I’ll get a real job, just not yet.

It has never been on my agenda to start my career straight after uni as not only am I unsure on what exactly i’d like to do, but I also think I need to let my hair down for a bit (acting like it has ever been up!)

Like most graduates who aren’t ready to commit to the working life, i’m going to Australia and as I am currently at the airport in Abu Dhabi, I thought i’d write a blog to save myself the time of texting everyone about my journey so far.

It has been stressful as I’ve realised I am not so good at geography.

I nearly missed my first flight from Birmingham to Amsterdam because I somehow thought Dusseldorf was the area in Dam where I was going so I sat for 45 minutes waiting for the gate to open.

Then I heard the final calling for my KLM flight to Amsterdam which was on the other side of the airport, I have never sprinted so fast in my life.

When I got there, the gate was closed.

I was panting like a dog and thought my adventure was over before it had even started, but fortunately the lady who checked me in told me to be quick and run down.

After that scare, I said to myself its time to concentrate to avoid getting stranded.

But once again, I avoid looking at the flight number and assume Abu Dhabi is actually Dubai. So I spent an hour going back and forth trying to find my flight and get a boarding pass printed (which turned out, I had it in my bag the whole time)

Once I worked up a sweat, I thought it might be a better idea to just look at my E-ticket and I then found out my plane was boarding.

So far, so stressful.

Leave a comment